Agartala, July 26 IANS | 3 months ago

A Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) team will visit Tripura next week to look into the alleged political violence in the Left-ruled state, party sources said Saturday.

The BJP's central delegation led by the party's vice-president and party in-charge of the northeast region S.S. Ahluwalia, during its two-day stay in Tripura, would visit some rural areas where clashes took place after the recent panchayat polls and also meet acting governor Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya.

"The ruling CPI-M (Communist Party of India-Marxist) workers and members unleashed terror and attacked the opposition party supporters in different parts of the state after the panchayat election. Many men and women were injured in the attacks," BJP's Tripura president Sudhindra Dasgupta told reporters.

He said the BJP's central team would visit villages in different districts July 28 and 29 and talk to the people affected by the violence.

The BJP, for the first time, secured a majority in five gram panchayats and won 141 seats in several other gram panchayats in the July 15 local bodies' election.

Dasgupta and other BJP leaders were allegedly attacked by CPI-M workers earlier this week at Jatrapur village in western Tripura when they went there to meet BJP supporters who were assaulted by Left party members.

The BJP workers led by senior party leaders then held demonstrations in front of the state police headquarters in Agartala and other districts.

The CPI-M said the allegations against its party workers were false.

"Dasgupta's vehicle hit four CPI-M workers at Jatrapur. Following this, several other CPI-M workers rushed to the spot and protested against the incident," a CPI-M leader later told reporters.

Police sub-inspector Swapan Kar, who led a police team to provide security to the BJP leaders, was suspended for negligence of duty.

(Posted on 26-07-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |