Bishkek, July 26 IANS | 3 months ago

A Kyrgyz military court Friday sentenced in absentia the country's former president Kurmanbek Bakiyev, his brother Janysh Bakiyev and former prime minister Daniyar Usenov to life imprisonment.

Reading out the verdict, Judge Damir Onolbekov said the court found the three guilty on several charges, including massive killing of demonstrators on April 7, 2010, Xinhua reported.

The court decided to sentence Bakiyev and his brother Janysh, former head of the state security service, to life imprisonment, as well as confiscation of property and deprivation of the right to occupy certain positions or engage in certain activities for three years.

Usenov was also sentenced to life imprisonment, with the right to occupy certain positions or engage in certain activities deprived for three years. His car, apartment and certain amount of cash will also be confiscated.

The three are wanted internationally by the Kyrgyz authorities. The former president and his brother are believed to be in Belarus, while attempts for their extradition have failed. The location of the former prime minister remains unknown.

Several other high-ranking officials in the Bakiyev administration were also found guilty of complicity in murder or attempted murder, and sentenced to 6-25 years in prison Friday -- three of them in absentia.

On April 7, 2010, a wave of protests against the Bakiyev administration swept across Kyrgyzstan. In a bloody conflict between the demonstrators and law enforcement agencies in Bishkek, 87 people were killed and nearly 500 others wounded. Bakiyev then fled the country and an interim government headed by the opposition took over.

(Posted on 26-07-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |