New Delhi, July 22 IANS | 2 months ago

Defence Minister Arun Jaitley Tuesday said the army has been giving befitting replies to ceasefire violations by Pakistan.

"Indian Army has given befitting reply to Pakistan's repeated attempts of ceasefire violations along the LoC. India will keep retaliating to such violations," Jaitley told the Rajya Sabha Tuesday.

"India won't and will never bow down," he said.

A soldier was killed in ceasefire violation by Pakistan in the Akhnoor sector of Jammu and Kashmir Tuesday.

Jaitley informed the house that 199 cases of ceasefire violations took place during the UPA-II regime.

Replying to supplementaries during question hour, the defence minister also said the government is ready to provide compensation to the people in villages located near the LoC for damage caused to their houses in firing across the boarder.

"Government will also provide financial assistance to the farmers, who are unable to make use of their land for agriculture following cross border firing," Jaitley added.

Leader of Opposition Ghulam Nabi Azad said: "During past two months period of Modi government, Pakistan has violated ceasefire 25 times."

(Posted on 22-07-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |