New Delhi, July 21 IANS | 3 months ago

The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) Monday described as "unconstitutional" the Haryana government's move for a separate body to manage Sikh shrines in the state.

SAD member Prem Singh Chandumajra, who raised the matter in the Lok Sabha after question hour, said Haryana's action was and "unconstitutional."

"We will not allow SGPC (Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee) to be divided," he said.

Chandumajra said the Haryana government had created Haryana Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Comittee (HSGPC) to garner votes in view of ensuing assembly election in the state.

He also made references about the Congress which were strongly resisted by the party members.

Responding to Chandumajra's concerns, union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad said the matter was under consideration of the central government.

The Haryana government's move to have a separate body to manage Sikh shrines in the state is being resisted by the Amritsar-based SGPC and the Shiromani Akali Dal.

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal had met Prime Minister Narendra Modi in New Delhi Friday to seek the central government's intervention on the issue.

Union Home Secretary Anil Goswami Friday shot off a letter to the Haryana government, seeking withdrawal of the governor's assent to the controversial Haryana Sikh Gurdwaras (Management) Bill, 2014.

However, the Haryana government reacted sharply to the letter and outrightly rejected withdrawal of the new act.

The SGPC controls gurdwaras in Punjab, Haryana and Himachal Pradesh. It is likely to lose control of the Haryana shrines following the enactment of the new law in the state.

(Posted on 21-07-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |