Shanghai, July 21 IANS | 3 months ago

China's rookie Yang Jian made a brilliant debut at the FINA Diving World Cup, winning his first world title in the men's 10m platform and in the process helping the hosts to claim all nine gold medals on offer.

Yang, 20, showed his talent on the high degree of difficulties by collecting 102.60 points for 207B and 102.50 for 109B here Sunday, reports Xinhua.

Yang won his first world championship with a total 543.85, beating reigning world champion Qiu Bo to second with 528.50 points and Ivan Garcia of Mexico to the third position with 504.90 points. Thomas Daley of Britain came fourth with 470.35.

Yang, who is from Luzhou, Sichuan province from where Qiu Bo, and former Olympic champions Tian Liang and Gao Min came, kept the FINA record as high as 616.50 in the World Series in London this year.

"Though I won the gold, I did not perform my best. My victory was lucky thanks to Qiu Bo's mistake. I had ups-and-downs during the final, especially my first dive was not good," said Yang, double winner of men's 10m platform and synchro platform in FINA Grand Prix 2012 in Italy and repeated the feat in Rostock this year.

"I should have better performance today. My career has just begun since I overcome the difficulty in learning 409," Yang said.

Qiu, who set the pace after three rounds but suffered a big blow in the 207B for 43.20, secured silver by his strong 109C (Inward 4.5 somersault) with a day-high 105.45 and 100.70 in 5156B (Forward 2.5 somersault 3 twists).

"I had a big mistake that had cost me the gold. But it is ok since my target is the Olympic Games. It is a tough competition tonight," said 21-year-old Qiu.

Garcia showed his highest DD 409C (Inward 3.5 somersault) 94.30 and helped him to take the bronze.

After the six-day competition, China wrapped up all nine gold medals on offer together with four silvers in individual events.

(Posted on 21-07-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |