The Hague, July 21 IANS | 3 months ago

Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte announced Sunday that the Netherlands will coordinate the efforts to identify MH17 victims.

The Netherlands was hit the hardest of all countries in the air disaster with the Malaysian Airlines flight happened in eastern Ukraine, with 193 Dutch citizens onboard among the total of 298 victims killed by the crash Thursday, Xinhua reported.

The Dutch prime minister views it as a priority to identify the bodies of all the victims and bring them to the country of origin.

"Yesterday and today me and Frans Timmermans (foreign minister) had contact with many parties involved in repatriation of the dead people," said Rutte in a press conference. "We have agreed that the Netherlands will get the international coordination of the identification of the victims."

Tonight a unit of the defence ministry will travel from Eindhoven airport to Kharkov, with people and resources to organise the coordination center in Kharkov on board. The Dutch police chief Gert Wibbelink will lead that identification team.

In addition, Rutte spoke about the refrigerated train wagons in the disaster area containing bodies of victims, but apparently going nowhere. "All efforts are now focused to get this train on territory controlled by Ukraine," said Rutte.

"Among other things, Frans Timmermans telephoned Secretary of State John Kerry about this on Sunday. The OSCE (Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe) does the negotiations with the pro-Russian separatists."

(Posted on 21-07-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |