Hyderabad, Jul 4 UNI | 21 days ago

In a repeat performance,the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in Andhra Pradesh and the Telangana Rashtra samithi (TRS) in Telangana emerged as impressive victors in the Mandal Parishad elections, today.

Both the ruling parties scored spectacular victories claiming a majority of mandal praja parishads in the two states.The two parties had bagged a majority of municipalities in the two states in the elections held yesterday.

Continuing its winning spree,the ruling Telugu Desam party (TDP) swept the local bodies polls too claiming 423 of the 625 mandal praja parishads in Andhra Pradesh results of which were declared. There are 653 MPPs in the state.Results of the remaing will be declared later.

On the other hand, the Congress, like in the general elections held in May last, drew a blank not able to win even a single MPP in the state.

The TDP was miles ahead of others in 11 districts,while the YSR Congress fared well in two districts (Kadappa and Nellore).

In Telangana,the TRS won 200 of the 371 MPPs,followed by the Congress 112, the TDP 36 and others 23.

In the municipal elections results of which were announced yesterday,the Congress managed to win just one municipality out of a total 92 municipalities in the Andhra Pradesh,while the TDP won 74 municipalities.The YSR Congress bagged 15 municipalities.

(Posted on 04-07-2014)