Hyderabad Jul 3 UNI | 21 days ago

In the Municipal and Municipal Corporation elections held in the two States today, the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in Telangana state clinched all manicipal Corporations and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in Andhra Pradesh.

In Telangana state, the TRS won all Mayor posts in Karimnagar, Ramagundam and Nizamabad.

Of 52 municipalities, results for the 50 Municipalities were announced and the TRS got a majority of 22, while Congress got 20, TDP-4, BJP- 3 and MIM-1 respectively.

According to information, Nalgonda and Suryapet Municipal Chairman election was postponed.

In Warangal, Congress won Mahabubabad Municipality and Dr B Uma was elected Chairperson.

In Andhra Pradesh, of 7 Corporations, ruling TDP won 5 (Anantahapuram, Chittoor, Vijayawada, Eluru and Rajamandry) and Opposition YSR Congress Party got 2 ( Kadapa and Nellore).

Similarly, out of 92 municipalities,election for two were postponed.

TDP won majority of 74 Municipalities.YSR Congress Party got 15 municipalities and the Congress one.

(Posted on 03-07-2014)