Thursday, February 11 2016

Home > News > India News

FYUP students submit memorandum to HRD ministry

Posted on Jun 28 2014 | IANS

New Delhi, June 28 : Students who enrolled in the four-year undergraduate programme (FYUP) last year submitted a memorandum to the human resource development ministry Saturday, seeking an assurance that their interests will be kept in mind.

The FYUP introduced in the last academic year was rolled back Friday, after a week's tussle between UGC and the varsity over its continuation.

Delhi University has now decided to go back to the earlier three-year course, and it is not clear what will happen to the B.Tech courses which were part of FYUP.

"We have submitted a memorandum to the joint secretary MHRD R.P. Sisodia, but no one is ready to give us a written assurance. This is a pressing time for us," Akshay Kachroo from Maharaja Agrasen College told IANS.

The students have also taken their protest to the University Grants Commission (UGC) and are also requesting DU to retain their B.Tech programme.

"No one wants to say anything about what will happen to us. We joined Delhi University because we wanted a B.Tech degree and not a B.Sc degree," said Prashita Jaishwal from Indraprastha College for Women.

There are about 2,500 students under the B.Tech programmes.

Delhi University introduced B.Tech in computer science, food technology, instrumentation electronics, polymer science and psychological science last year.

Similarly, the Bachelors (Honours) in Management Studies (BMS) students are also worried about their future as the course was introduced last year under the FYUP.

"I do not know what will happen with the BMS programme. We have finished one year. We can't be just left like this," Inderjeet Kaur told IANS.

Latest News: