Johannesburg, June 27 ANI | 4 months ago

Newly elected International Cricket Council (ICC) chairperson Narayanaswami Srinivasan has said that his conscience was clear despite figuring in a corruption inquiry.

The controversial Indian cricket chief was appointed as the ICC chairperson on Thursday despite being suspended by India's Supreme Court as the country's top cricket official after being named in a damning report into corruption allegations in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

According to Sport24, Srinivasan's ascension to the top job follows changes last February to the governance of the ICC, which handed the majority of power and revenues to the sport's 'big three' nations - India, Australia and England.

Under the new structure, an ICC executive committee has been formed that is chaired by Cricket Australia head Wally Edwards, with England's Giles Clarke heading up the finance and commercial affairs committee.

Srinivasan denied that he was not a fit and proper person to become the first chairman of the ICC, which was previously headed by a president.

Srinivasan said that there is no wrong-doing on his part and therefore his conscience is very clear that there is no taint on him and whatever investigations would take its course, reports would come out.

Srinivasan said that he believes that some of the criticism is unfair to him and it is not well-founded, adding that one must judge him by results as he has just been elected.

He said that one has to wait and see as to what is the effect he has on the ICC before one makes that call.

Srinivasan was one of the 13 people named in the IPL corruption allegations, the report added.

(Posted on 27-06-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |