London, June 27 ANI | 4 months ago

Formula One is set to introduce standing re-starts, which is a part of a series of rule changes introduced by governing body the FIA, after a safety-car period from the next season.

Among the changes, the rules on noses would be changed to prevent the 'anteater' noses that predominate in the current motorsport racing season.

According to the BBC, drivers gave mixed reactions to the re-start change when news of the plan was leaked at last weekend's Austrian Grand Prix.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso said that he had no strong opinions, while current championship leader Nico Rosberg said that it was extreme.

Rosberg added that he understands the start is one of the most exciting times for the fans but it sounds very extreme so he is hoping that it does not happen.

Meanwhile, Formula One bosses feel that the current rolling starts behind a safety car do not provide sufficient excitement, because there is almost never any overtaking whereas a standing start increases the chances of drivers gaining or losing positions.

Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo, who won this month's Canadian Grand Prix after a safety-car period, said that maybe it would be more exciting because there is a bit more variability, adding that if it goes to a standing start, the chances of not-a-great start are pretty high so one could go from first to even fourth.

Ricciardo also said that currently rolling starts are not too bad, as they bunch everyone up at least, adding that for spectators, a standing start would be better, but it is probably not the most fair idea.

(Posted on 27-06-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |