Hyderabad, Jun 23 UNI | 1 month ago

Senior TDP member Mandali Buddha Prasad was today declared unanimously elected as the Deputy Speaker of Andhra Pradesh Assembly.

Speaker Kodela Sivaprasad Rao, who was in the chair, declared the election of Mr Prasad in the House.

Mr Prasad, a former Minister who was in the Congress earlier, joined the TDP in the recent elections protesting against the decision to divide the state.

Mr Prasad, who has been elected to the Assembly for the third time from Avanigadda constituency in Krishna district, had also served as a minister in the Y S Rajasekhara Reddy Government.

He had also served as Chairman of AP Official Language Commission.

Leader of the House N Chandrababu Naidu, Leader of Opposition Y S Jaganmohan Reddy, ministers and legislators congratulated Mr Mandali on his election as Deputy Speaker.

(Posted on 23-06-2014)