Hamilton, Jan 31 IBNS | 9 months ago

India's ODI campaign in New Zealand received another jolt as the home side defeated MS Dhoni and his men by 87 runs in the fifth and final match of the series here on Friday.

New Zealand won the series 4-0. India had only manged to tie one match.

After posting 303 on the scoreboard, New Zealand bowled out India for 216 in 49.4 overs.

India's run chase received initial jolts as the visitors lost the wickets of Rohit Sharma (4), Shikhar Dhawan (9) and Ajinkya Rahane (2) to be reduced to 30-3 in 13.2 overs.

Virat Kohli, who only seems to be in a consistent touch for the past few series, shined with his willow and added 48 runs in the fourth wicket partnership to stabilise the innings.

New Zealand, however, gave Indian spectators another heart-break when they picked up the wicket of Ambati Rayudu (20).

Kohli smashed seven boundaries and three sixes in his knock and was joined by skipper MS Dhoni (47) in another 67 runs partnership to give some hope to the Indian audience, though the series was already out of hand.

Dhoni added one more feather to his crown as he completed his 8000 runs in the 50-over format.

After Kohli departed, Dhoni was the lone warrior to try to help India reach the proper total at the end but he got out in the 45th over as the World Champions stood at 181 for 8 in 44.1 overs.

New Zealand pacer Matt Henry picked up four wickets for New Zealand.

Earlier, New Zealand posted 303 on the scoreboard by losing only five wickets.

Ross Taylor continued his good form in the series and scored a smashing 102 of 106 balls. He hit ten boundaries and a over boundary in his knock.

Kane Williamson also notched up a crucial 88.

India lost their number one position in the ODI with the defeat.

Varun Aaron picked up two wickets for India.

(Posted on 01-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |