Chennai, Jan 31 IANS | 2 years ago

Four candidates of Tamil Nadu's ruling AIADMK and one each from DMK and CPI-M have been elected to Rajya Sabha unopposed from the state, an official release said Friday.

In a statement issued here, A.M.P. Jamaludeen, the returning officer and secretary in the legislative assembly secretariat, said six people have been elected to Rajya Sabha to fill up the vacancies that would arise this April.

The newly-elected members to Rajya Sabha are Sasikala Pushpa, K. Selvaraj, S. Muthukaruppan, Vijila Sathyananth (all AIADMK), Trichi N. Siva (DMK) and T.K. Rangarajan of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M).

The terms of N. Balaganga (AIADMK), Rangarajan (CPI-M), G.K. Vasan and Jayanthi Natarajan (both Congress), Vasanthi Stanley and A.A. Jinnah (both DMK) come to an end in April.

(Posted on 01-02-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries