Melbourne, Jan 31 IANS | 9 months ago

The Australia women's cricket team Friday defeated England by seven wickets in the second Twenty20 of the 2014 Commonwealth Bank Women's Ashes Series at the MCG here.

Captain Meg Lanning won the toss and sent England in to bat first. The visitors made 98 for six from their 20 overs, a total which was chased down by the Australian side in the 16th over as they reached 99 for three. Holly Ferling's figures of 2-14 earned her Player of the Match honours.

The Australian women's team, also called Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars, got off to a solid start with the ball as Ferling (2-14) snared the wicket of Danielle Wyatt (0) in the first over.

Four overs later Ferling struck again as she claimed the key wicket of Sarah Taylor (8). Lydia Greenway (15) dug her heels in and found the boundary on two occasions before she was caught out by Erin Osborne off the bowling of Ellyse Perry (1-19).

Natalie Sciver (4), who has been consistently good throughout the series with the bat and ball, was trapped LBW by Jess Jonassen (1-17) in the 12th over. Captain Charltote Edwards (28) proved to again be the main-stay of the innings before she was caught and bowled by Osborne (1-19) in the 13th over.

Amy Jones (14) was the final wicket to fall in the innings when she was clean bowled by Rene Farrell (1-17). Arran Brindle (26 not out) remained unbeaten at the crease.

Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars openers Elyse Villani (16) and Alyssa Healy (37 not out) hit the ground running from the first ball as they quickly built a 25-run partnership before Villani was bowled by Danielle Hazell (1-11).

Healy then partnered with Meg Lanning (42) to put on a 69-run partnership as they raced towards the target before Lanning was caught out by Greenway off the bowling of Georgia Elwiss (1-19). Alex Blackwell (1 not out) helped her side win with 29 balls to spare.

(Posted on 31-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |