New Delhi, Jan 30 IANS | 9 months ago

Seventy crore Indians - who are above poverty line but continue to be vulnerable - should be brought into the "middle class" over the next 5-10 years, Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi said Thursday.

Interacting with labour representatives and street vendors to seek their feedback for the Congress party manifesto for the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Gandhi said the United Progressive Alliance government has enacted several rights-based legislations.

He said the legislations provided the vulnerable sections a platform to seek better remuneration.

Referring to the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MNREGA), he said it provided a "concrete surface" to the poor sections and ended uncertainty related to income in their lives.

Gandhi, in his address at the All India Congress Committee meeting earlier this month, had said a new class of about 70 crore people was emerging which was "just above the poverty line but below the middle class".

He said people in this category include labourers, security guards and painters, and they go down the poverty line the moment someone falls ill in their family and were struggling hard to provide education to their children.

Gandhi, in his interaction Thursday, said the 70 crore people "build the country" and the aim should be to bring them in the middle class in the next "5-10 years".

"The 70 crore people... if we want to put them in the middle class, that is what the aim should be... we have to provide a concrete surface beneath their feet. In 5-10 years, they should feel they are in the middle class," he said.

The 70 crore people should also be made aware of their rights in education and health, he said.

The participants gave their suggestions, including creating a national commission for labour and uniform wages to Anganwadi workers.

(Posted on 30-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |