Chikmagalur, Karnataka, Jun 7 UNI | 2 months ago

In all 32 teams are all perked up with their well tuned machines to take part in the inaugural event of the Indian National Rally championship beginning here tomorrow.

The coffee town of Chikmagalur is buzzing with activity on the eve of the 178-km rally that included 112 km of gureulling special stages.

This is the first round of the 2014 Indian National TSD Rally Championship. The rally route - that is undisclosed till the morning of the event so as to challenge the navigational skill of the teams - here is generally challenging but the participants are up to it and have generally come out with flying colours.

The rally section is 112 Km long that excluses 66 Km of free run routes.

The rally will begin and end at the Chikmagalur Catholic Club and will go through picturesque countryside and coffee estate regions in and around here.

A total of 32 entries have been received with 16 of them being from around the country. Twelve are in the Chikmagalur class, which are local entries and four entries are in the Couple category (has to be a team of a male and female). Team Tata Motors has fielded three teams with two-time and defending champions in the Pro Stock Class consisting of Chidananda Murthy and B S Sujith Kumar (Sidvin Core Tech, Bangalore), Amol Satoskar (Goa) and Nirav Mehta (Mumbai) and the third is an all-ladies team of Vanita Kang (Chandigarh) and Nidhi Mittal (Mumbai) and they will drive in the Ladies Class.

(Posted on 08-06-2014)