Kolkata, Jun 6 UNI | 2 months ago

The three Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) legislators were allocated neutral seats in the West Bengal Assembly where the month-long budget session began today.

The three MLAs are Mr Harka Bahadur Chhetri, Mr Trilok Dewan and Mr Rohit Sharma, elected respectively from Kalimpong, Darjeeling and Kurseong.

In a letter to Speaker Biman Banerjee, Mr Chhetri had sought neutral seats for them. Earlier, the GJM legislators sat on the government side.

However, the GJM supported BJP candidate S S Ahluwalia fighting against Trinamool nominee Bhaichung Bhutia from Darjeeling in the recently held Lok Sabha elections

The seat of expelled CPI(M) member Abdur Rezzak Mollah was also relocated following a request by the Leader of the Opposition Surjya Kanta Mishra.

(Posted on 06-06-2014)