Hyderabad, Jan 30 IANS | 9 months ago

Leaders from Seemandhra Thursday claimed that Andhra Pradesh legislature unanimously rejected the bill for formation of a separate Telangana state.

Contrary to the claim by their counterparts from Telangana that completion of the debate on the bill in the legislature cleared the way for formation of Telangana state, leaders from Seemandhra (Rayalaseema and coastal Andhra) said passing of the official resolutions rejecting the bill was the victory of people opposing bifurcation.

Finance Minister Anam Ramnarayan Reddy said since Telangana legislators opposed division in both the houses, the official resolutions were adopted by voice vote. "The bill has been rejected in tune with the aspirations of the people," he said.

Legislative Affairs Minister S. Sailajanath, who is heading Seemandhra leaders opposing bifurcation, said both the houses rejected the bill and this had become part of the record.

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leader P. Keshav hailed the passing of resolutions rejecting the bill. He termed it as a historic development.

"Though we also had given notices to move resolution for rejecting the bill, we are happy that the official resolutions were passed with voice vote," he said.

Keshav said since the resolution has appealed to the President Pranab Mukherjee not to refer the bill to the parliament, he hoped that the process for bifurcation of the state would come to a halt.

(Posted on 30-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |