New Delhi, Jan 30 IANS | 9 months ago

Congress legislator Asif Muhammad Khan Thursday disrupted Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's press conference and vowed to vote against his government, come what may.

A furious Khan also asked the Congress to take back its critical legislative support to the month-old AAP government for what he said was a "betrayal" of a promise made by Kejriwal to Muslims in his area.

Khan is a legislator from Okhla where a controversial shootout between Delhi Police and suspected Indian Mujahideen members in September 2008 left a police officer and two alleged militants dead.

A third suspect was arrested and a fourth escaped. The killings generated controversy after it was alleged that those killed were not militants.

Khan said Kejriwal had earlier promised a Special Investigating Team probe - like the one the chief minister wants into the 1984 killings of Sikhs - into the shootout at Batla House but was now refusing to do so.

Demanding an investigation, Khan called Kejriwal the director of "Radio Jhootistaan" and thundered that he would no longer support the AAP government even if the Congress expelled him.

"I will also request the Congress to withdraw its support to the AAP," he added.

"He (Kejriwal) had promised the people of Okhla that he will probe the Batla House case, and had even distributed hand bills to this effect," the Congress legislator said.

Kejriwal, he said, was now backtracking. "He has betrayed the people of Okhla," said Khan.

Asked for his comments, Kejriwal said there would be no probe into the incident as the court had given its verdict and the case had been closed.

The AAP, which won 28 seats in the Delhi assembly, is in office on the strength of the support given by the eight-member Congress party.

It is also propped up by an independent and a Janata Dal-United legislator. An AAP legislator has since turned a rebel, reducing the AAP's comfort zone in the legislature.

(Posted on 30-01-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |