Hyderabad, Jun 4 UNI | 2 months ago

Host South Zone got off to a rollicking start in the first round of the J K Bose Inter-zonal T20 Cricket tournament at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium here today.

Batting first South Zone shot out the hapless West Zone batsmen for a paltry 94, thanks to combined efforts by R Satya, who scalped three and S Sudarshan and Bhagloth who accounted for two apiece.

South openers had no problem in chasing down the total with man of the match Roshan Thyagarajan doing the bulk of scoring with a fast-paced unbeaten 67.

In the other match played at Gymkhana Ground, North Zone destroyed East Zone to post a facile 53-run win.

Batting first, North posted a massive 163 runs for the loss of five wickets in the stipulated overs.

Man of the match Siddharth Sharma top scored with 62 while Amit Choudary chipped in with 54. Earlier, the tournament was inaugurated by V V S Laxman.

Brief scores: West Zone 94 (Taus Rizwi 22, R Satya 3/18, S Sudarshan 2/14, Bhagloth P 2/19) lost to South Zone 95 for no loss (Roshan Thyagarajan 67no); North Zone 163 for 5 (Siddhatrh Sharma 62, Amit Choudary 54, Md Abdul Aziz 2/24) bt East Zone 110 for 9 (Kiriti Dutta 42, Sudhir Uphadhayay 2/9, Dharmendra Pani 2/22, Amit Choudary 2/24).

(Posted on 05-06-2014)