Sunday, February 07 2016

Home > News > Andhra Pradesh News

KCR wants Telangana in two weeks

Posted on Jan 30 2014 | IBNS

Hyderabad, Jan 30 : Even as the Andhra Pradesh Assembly on Thursday rejected the Telangana Bill before being adjourned sine die, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) chief K Chandrasekhar Rao said a new Telangana state will be formed in two weeks.

"By February 15, Parliament will pass the Telangana bill. I have reliable information that Delhi is determined," Rao told NDTV.

He also criticised AP Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy for crafting a move to "sabotage" Telangana by pushing a resolution rejecting the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill, which was passed by a voice vote.

"If we go by majority, Telangana will never be formed," Rao told NDTV, adding that it was Kiran Reddy, not the bill, that was "defective."

Earlier in the day, Kiran Kumar Reddy moved a resolution against the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and creation of Telangana state.

Speaker N Manohar said most MLAs rejected the Bill after it was put for a voice vote.

"There are 175 Seemandhra legislators and 119 from Telangana in the Assembly out of which 86 MLAs put forward their views on the Bill. Telanagana legislators didn't vote as they were already outnumbered," reported CNN-IBN.

While the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) said it was the will of the people reflected in the Assembly.

"People's will on the creation of Telangana was reflected in the House today," said a TDP MLA.

Meanwhile, Congress leader Renuka Chowdhury said: "The Telangana Bill has been passed in Parliament with the best of intention and not to create problems for Seemandhra or Telangana."

"Kiran Reddy is conveying the sentiments of Seemandhra. The government will now look at it according to the law and constitution before sending it back to the President," she added.

Amid uproar, the Andhra Pradesh Assembly was adjourned on Thursday, a day after the Congress Chief Minister said he will quit politics if the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation 2013 Bill to form a separate Telangana state is introduced in Parliament in its current form.

The Bill that proposes the formation of Telangana was sent by President Pranab Mukherjee to the Andhra Pradesh assembly for review earlier this month.

The draft of the Bill is meant to be sent back to the President on Thursday.

Congress MPs from Seemandhra threatened to bring a non confidence motion in Parliament against their own party.

Seemandhra Congress lawmaker U Arun Kumar said the bill is unconstitutional and undemocratic while the lawmakers also contemplate legal action.

Stating that the Bill is unacceptable in the current form, the Chief Minister has written to the President seeking three more weeks to complete the debate on the AP Reorganisation Bill 2013.

The Andhra Pradesh Assembly session was on Jan 23 extended till Jan 30 to continue discussion on the Telangana Bill.

The draft Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill-2013 was tabled in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly on Dec 16 amid clashes between Telangana and Seemandhara legislators.

The new state of Telangana is expected to have 10 districts, a population of 35.38 million and an area of 1.14 lakh square km and including Andhra Pradesh capital Hyderabad, which will serve as a common capital for 10 years.

The GoM (Group of Ministers) earlier had submitted its draft on bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and creation of Telangana as the 29th state of India.

India's ruling Congress party in July 2013 approved a move to carve out the Telangana region of Andhra Pradesh, giving in to a five-decade-long demand from supporters in a major decision ahead of 2014 elections.

Officially urging the government to take constitutional steps that will see the state's formation, the Congress Working Committee (CWC) passed a resolution on the same.

The Telangana region, which merged with Andhra Pradesh in 1956 against the wishes of many local residents, comprises 10 districts - Adilabad, Hyderabad, Khammam, Karimnagar, Mahbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Rangareddy, and Warangal.

Latest News: