Home > News > more-news

DCW chief accuses AAP government of harassing her

New Delhi, Jan 29 : Barkha Singh, chief of the Delhi Commission for Women (DCW), Wednesday accused the AAP government of "harassing" her after Hindi novelist Maitreyi Pushpa was named the panel's new chief.

Barkha Singh said the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) government took the step after she summoned Delhi Law Minister Somnath Bharti to explain his controversial campaign against an alleged prostitution racket.

Refusing to step down from the post, she said: "I've still one year and four months left of my tenure and it's a constitutional post. They're doing (this) because I summoned Somnath Bharti. Tomorrow (Thursday), I'm going to meet the Lt. Governor."

Barkha Singh, who lost the Delhi assembly election as a Congress candidate, said there was no need for her to quit even though the Congress government which appointed her has bowed out.

Meanwhile, a Delhi government official said Pushpa's name has been sent to the Lt. Governor so that the DCW is headed by a non-political, eminent personality.

--IANS (Posted on 29-01-2014)

Share this Post:

Post Your Comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |

More more-news: