Kolkata, May 26 UNI | 2 months ago

With the aim of providing better civic amenities to the people of West Bengal, the Mamata Banerjee government today decided to form six municipal corporations from 17 existing municipalities across the state.

The legal processes and area demarcation will, including necessary notification processes will begin soon.

The issues were discussed at the cabinet meeting at Nabanna under the leadership of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

The proposed municipal corporations are: Salt Lake and Rajarhat-Goplapur Dum Dum, South Dum Dum and North Dum Dum Madhyamgram, Barasat and New Barrackpore Maheshtala, Pujali and Budge Budge Uttarpara, Serampore, Rishra and Konnagar Chanpdani and Bhadreswar will be clubbed with the Chandannagar Municipal Corporation and Bali will be included in Howrah Municipal Corporation.

The small municipalities cannot undertake big projects, she said.

(Posted on 27-05-2014)