Thane, May 24 UNI | 2 months ago

The Thane police today booked seven people, including the NCP MLA from Murbad Kisan Kathore, in connection with murder of the Shiv Sena leader from Badlapur Mohan Raut this morning in his office, the police said.

The police control said the seven have been booked under sections 303, 120B of the IPC and Arms Act, section 25(k), and the BP Act 37(1).

Mohan Raut the Deputy Chief of the Shiv Sena was this morning shot dead by some unindentifed persons near his office. The killers fired at him from point blank range. The police have set out a manhunt to nab the killers.

Later during the day, the police booked seven identified as Kisan Kathore, Samir Gharve, Ramesh 'Bala' Patil, Pappu More, Devendra Malusare 'Kaju', Yogesh Raut, and Jayram Raut.

All the seven have been named as suspects in the FIR with the police, the police said.

It may be recalled that it was in the month of March 2014, that an attempt was made on the life of Yogesh Raut the Deputy Chief of the NCP Badlapur unit, by some persons who shot at him.

He however escaped the attack and survived the bullet shots.

(Posted on 24-05-2014)