Saturday, February 06 2016

Home > News > Tamil Nadu News

Jayalalithaa may skip Modi's swearing-in

Posted on May 22 2014 | IBNS

Chennai, May 22 : Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) supremo J Jayalalithaa is likely to skip Prime Minister Narendra Modi's oath-taking ceremony in New Delhi on May 26, said reports on Thursday.

AIADMK sources said Jayalalithaa took the decision a day after Modi invited Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa to his swearing-in.

Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif too is unlikely to attend Modi's oath-taking ceremony, said reports on Wednesday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) strongman invited Sharif and heads of South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) nations to his swearing-in ceremony.

According to reports, Pakistan has sought more time to go through Sharif's schedule before confirming his presence at the ceremony. Chances are high that the Pakistani government will send a representative on Sharif's behalf, said sources.

President Pranab Mukherjee on Tuesday appointed Modi as the Prime Minister of India and requested him to advise the names of others to be appointed as Members of the Council of Ministers.

Modi will be worn in as the 14th Prime Minister of India on May 26.

"Shri Narendra Modi, Leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party, called on the President at 1515 hrs. today (May 20, 2014). As Shri Narendra Modihas been elected leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party and BJP has the majority support in the House of the People, the President appointed Shri Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister of India and requested him to advise the names of others to be appointed Members of the Council of Ministers," a press communique from the President's Secretariat said.

"The President will administer the Oath of Office and Secrecy on May 26, 2014 at 1800 hrs. at Rashtrapati Bhavan," it said.

Modi met Mukherjee at the Rashtrapati Bhavan here to stake claim to form the new government.

A delegation of 15 members of National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by BJP chief Rajnath Singh met the President.

"A letter stating that Shri Narendra Modi has been elected as Leader of BJP Parliamentary Party was handed over to the President," the communique said.

Latest News: