Bhubaneswar, May 21 UNI | 2 months ago

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today announced to implement the promises made in the BJD manifesto in a phased manner.

Briefing mediapersons after presiding over the first Council of Ministers meeting after the swearing-in ceremony, Mr Patnaik said the Council of Ministers approved the BJD manifesto in principle and decided to make all out efforts to implement the promises made in the manifesto in a phased manner following due process of the government.

Mr Patnaik said the new Council of Ministers thanked the people of Odisha and expressed their gratitude for reposing their trust to serve them for next five years.

Earlier, Mr Patnaik had formed a 21-member Council of Ministers including eleven Cabinet and ten Ministers of state and distributed the portfolios.

As many as 12 of the total 30 districts in the state remained unrepresented in the Council of Ministers. Ganjam, which the Chief Minister represents has the highest number of four Ministers in the Ministry including the Chief Minister, three Cabinet Ministers and a Minister of state followed by Puri which is represented by two ministers.

The Chief Minister, while, retained nine ministers of the outgoing Council of Ministers, dropped five and inducted 12 new faces.

Mr Patnaik while distributing the portfolios retained the Home, General Administration, Water Resources and Works with himself and allotted Finance and Public Enterprises to former speaker Pradip Kumar Amat.

The Finance Department was, earlier, held by Prasanna Kumar Acharya who lost the election.

Dr Damodar Rout who held the Health and Family Welfare, Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises in the last government was given Cooperation and Excise this time.

The Council of Ministers has two women-Ms Usha Devi, who, was inducted as a Cabinet Minister and Ms Snehangini Chhuria as a Minister of State.

(Posted on 22-05-2014)