Gandhinagar, May 21 UNI | 2 months ago

Gujarat Assembly members will extend a farewell today to Chief Minister Narendra Modi, who is slated to take over as the next Prime Minister of the country.

Mr Modi will be sworn-in as India's 15th Prime Minister on May 26.

Speaker Vajubhai Vala has called a special session of the House to give a farewell to Mr Modi, who led the NDA to a landslide victory in the Lok Sabha elections. The special session will be convened at 1100 hrs.

The leaders of all the political parties have decided to rise above the party lines to felicitate Mr Modi, who, for them, has made the state proud by becoming the second Gujarati to adorn the top job after Morarji Desai.

Mr Modi, elected for consecutive four times as the Chief Minister, has been the leader of the House for more than last 12 years.

The leaders of the BJP, opposition Congress and the NCP supported the proposal of felicitating and extending a farewell to Mr Modi moved by the Speaker as it was a matter of pride for the state.

(Posted on 21-05-2014)