Thursday, February 11 2016

Home > News > Maharashtra News

Biennial Maharashtra, Karnataka council polls June 20

Posted on May 21 2014 | IANS

New Delhi, May 20 : Biennial elections for nine seats in the state legislative councils of Maharashtra and Karnataka from the graduates' and teachers' constituencies will be held June 20, the Election Commission said Tuesday.

"The terms of office of nine members of the state legislative councils of Karnataka and Maharashtra from graduates' and teachers' constituencies are going to expire on June 30 and July 19 respectively due to the retirement of the sitting members," an EC statement said.

The last date of filing nominations is June 3. The counting of vote will take place on June 24.

"The Model Code of Conduct as applicable to Elections to Graduates' and Teachers' Constituencies will come into force with immediate effect in the districts within which the above Constituencies are comprised," the statement added.

Latest News: