Jerusalem, May 20 IANS | 4 months ago

Members of the Israeli parliament will elect a new president June 10, Parliament Speaker Yuli Edelstein announced Monday.

The announcement marks the beginning of the race to replace current president Shimon Peres, whose tenure will expire July 27 after seven years since 2007, Xinhua reported. In Israel, the post of president is mainly ceremonial without much power .

Candidates for the presidency should receive the backing of at least 10 members of Knesset (parliament), and send their requests to the speaker. Then, the candidate who receives more than 61 votes in the 120-seat Knesset is elected for a seven-year term.

Reuven Rivlin, a veteran Likud member, already announced his intention to run Monday. Rivlin ran but lost in the 2007 race. Other potential candidates include Energy Minister Silvan Shalom and Labour party veteran Benjamin Ben Eliezer.

Earlier this month, President Peres slammed attempts made by Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu to curb the powers of the presidency and to delay the elections as Netanyahu had not yet found a candidate to support.

Peres reportedly told confidants that Netanyahu's actions were "an attempt to establish a dictatorship" and that the prime minister "will not be satisfied until there is an absolute ruler ( in the prime minister's office)".

(Posted on 20-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |