Guwahati , May 19 ANI | 5 months ago

When it comes to sports, youth from the northeast exhibit an almost unmatched passion. Recently, football players from Manipur proved their mettle yet again by winning the 20th senior women's national football championship that was held in Assam.

The 20th Senior Women's National Football Championship that concluded recently at the Golaghat Stadium in Assam witnessed a large turnout of spectators.

The team from Manipur defeated the defending champion Odisha, 3-1, to clinch the championship title.

With this win, Manipur has won the championship title for a record 17 times. It last won the championship in 2010. Ng. Bala was adjudged the player of the tournament.

" We had lost to them in 2011.Now by winning here we have taken our revenge. Here we won't be able to celebrate much but once we go back to Manipur, we will celebrate," said Bembem Devi, Captain, Manipur team.

A total of 22 teams from 21 states and the Railways participated in the championship.

The national sporting event was organized for the 1st time by the Dibrugarh and Golaghat District sports associations.

Through this tournament, 50 players have been selected to represent India in Asian games and other international tournaments.

Such national events provide a platform to the local players to showcase their talent, and help in promoting national integration by bringing together players from different parts of the country.

(Posted on 19-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |