Tuesday, February 09 2016

Home > News > Sports India News

Kolkata qualifiers of Red Bull Street Style 2014 declared

Posted on May 19 2014 | IBNS

Kolkata, May 19 : The Kolkata qualifiers of the Red Bull Street Style 2014 were recently declared here, after a serious battle of style, skill, technique and creativity.

The participants came in with all their enthusiasm to City Centre Mall, here and displayed their football tricks to the audience.

After two and half hours of exciting performances, Puneet Dhundele, Sidhharth Thapa Vishal Rituraj and Chaitanya Deshpande were declared the winners of the Kolkata qualifiers.

The four winners now move on to the national finals of Red Bull Street Style 2014 to be held next month where they will compete with winners from Mumbai, Delhi and Bengaluru.

In a head-to-head battle of football tricks, each participant performed for 20 seconds before passing the ball to his fellow participant.

They were judged by footballer Yan Law, dancer Harshvardhan Bhan and professional freestyle footballer Abhishek Anand on four parameters - variety, control, technique and style.

The rules of the game were simple: 1 ball, 2 players, 3 minutes.

The world's premier free styling competition- Red Bull Street Style is currently in the fourth edition of the competition in India.

The final winner will be selected by the World Champion of Red Bull Street Style - Sean Garnier.

The national finals of the Red Bull Street Style 2013 were held in Mumbai, where the winners of the city qualifiers performed jaw-dropping tricks to a packed crowd at Inorbit Mall, Malad.

They were judged by Kotaro Tokuda - 'Tokura', 2012 Red Bull Street Style World Champion, Indian footballer and goalkeeper of India national football team - Subrata Paul and ace choreographer - Uma Gaiti.

Kolkata's Krishna Limbu won the national tournament and represented India at the Red Bull Street Style international finals in September 2013.

Latest News: