Vadodra, MAY 18 UNI | 2 months ago

Hockey Gangpur-Odisha emerged champions after beating Delhi by 5-2 in the final of the 4th Hockey India Sub- Junior Men National Championship (Division B) here today. Sports Authority of India finished third at the expense of Gujarat whom they trounced by 11-2 in the Hard Line Cup.

Hockey Gangpur-Odisha led 1-0 at half time with Sanjay Xalxo scoring a field goal in the 13th minute. The start of the second half saw Hockey Gangpur-Odisha's Pratap Lakra slicing in a penalty corner in the 37th minute. Delhi opened tehir account in the 44th minute through Mohit Anand's field goal.

Hockey Gangpur-Odisha's Sanjay Xalxo struck in the next minute and was followed by Anand Ekka in the 54th minute to mark a 4-1 on board.

Delhi's last goal came again from Mohit Anand in the 58th minute whereas, Hockey Gangpur-Odisha went on to further increase their lead in the 66th minute as their last goal, coming from Biraj Topno and registering a 5-2 win in the finals.

In the Hard Line match played between, Sports Authority of India outclassed Hockey Gujarat with a whooping 11-2. SAI opened the shower of goals from the 12th minute of the match as they went on to pounce one goal after the other till the 70th minute of the game itself. Sports Authority of India's Sahil Gill and Rajkumar Pal contributed a total of six goals with three goals each to their credit out .

On the other hand , Gujarat managed to score just two goals, with the help of Virj Sisodiya in the 58th minute and Sarthak Parmar in the 67th minute. Results:

Final: Hockey Gangpur-Odisha 5 Sanjay Xalxo (13 and 45 min), Pratap Lakra (37 min), Anand Ekka (58 min) and Biraj Topno (66 min) Vs. Delhi Hockey 2 Mohit Anand (44 and 58 min)

Hard Line: Sports Authority Of India 11 Sahil Gill (12, 17 and 23 min), Rajkumar Pal (24, 25 and 65 min), Anand Yadav (30 min), Uttam Singh (49 min), Vishnukant Singh (51 min), Gurtej Singh (61 min) and Vishal Sharma (70 min) Vs. Hockey Gujarat 2 Viraj Sisodiya (58 min) and Sarthak Parmar (67 min).

(Posted on 18-05-2014)