Bhubaneswar, May 18 UNI | 2 months ago

The process of formation of the 15th Odisha Legislative Assembly began today with the presentation of the notification carrying the names of newly elected members of various political parties in the Odisha Gazette presented to Governor S C Jamir by State Chief Electoral Officer Mona Sharma.

Ms Sharma presented the Gazetted notification to the Governor at the Governor House here in presence of Election Commission Principal Secretary R K Srivastav and Secretary to Governor Parag Gupta

As per the provision of the Constitution, names of the newly elected members were published in the Odisha Gazette after the election results were declared on May 16.

As per the constitutional provision the Governor invites the leader of the majority party to form the government on the basis of the names of the elected members published in the Gazette.

With the presentation of the Gazette notification, the process for the election was over and the Model Code of Conduct imposed by the Election Commission since the announcement of election schedule was lifted, CEO office sources here said.

(Posted on 18-05-2014)