Bhubaneswar, May 18 UNI | 2 months ago

Biju Janata Dal Supremo Naveen Patnaik was today unanimously elected as the leader of the Biju Janata Dal Legislature Party.

Mrs V Sugnana Kumari Deo, the senior most leader in the party, who was elected to the state Assembly for a record ten times, proposed the name of Mr Patnaik at the party legislature meeting here today. The proposal was seconded by Dr Damodar Rout who was elected to the state Assembly from the Paradeep Assembly Constituency.

Later all the elected Party MLAs present at the meeting supported the proposal.

Out of the total 147 seats in Odisha,BJD has won 117 seats in the just concluded Assembly elections. Mr Naveen Patnaik is all set to form the government for a record fourth time.

The Chief Minister thanked the members for electing him as the leader of the BJD legislature party and appealed to the members to unitedly work for the development and welfare of the state and the poor people of the state. While proposing the name of Mr Patnaik as the BJD Legislature party leader Mrs Deo said the people voted the BJD to power for a record fourth consecutive term due to the the good governance of Mr Naveen Patnaik. She said the other political parties have almost lost their existence in the husting and wanted the members to elect Mr Patnaik as the leader of the BJD legislature party.

Supporting the proposal Dr Rout said before the election Mr.Naveen Patnaik was the unchallenged leader of the state but after the election he became the unconquered leader of the state.

(Posted on 18-05-2014)