Ahmedabad, May 17 UNI | 2 months ago

BJP's Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi won with the highest margin and also got the highest number of votes in the Lok Sabha polls in Gujarat.

Mr Modi won from the Vadodara Lok Sabha seat defeating Congress leader Madhusudan Mistry by 5,70,128 votes getting a total of 8,45,464 votes, the highest in the state. The BJP won all 26 seats in Gujarat in these general elections, results of which were declared yesterday.

After Mr Modi, BJP's C R Patil (Navsari) won by the second highest margin of 5,58,116 votes defeating Congress candidate Maksud Mirza.

BJP's Darshana Jardosh won from Surat with the third highest margin of 5,33,190 votes and defeated Congress' Naishad Desai.

The candidate who won with the lowest margin was BJP's Dilip Patel (Anand) who defeated Union Minister Bharat Solanki by 63,426 votes. BJP veteran leader L K Advani got 7,73,539 votes.

The candidate who won but got lowest of 4,36,715 votes was Naran Kacchadiya from Amreli.

The candidate who got lowest votes in the Lok Sabha polls in the state was Janata Dal (United) candidate Aakash Dutt, an advocate, who got just 558 votes at Ahmedabad East.

The highest valid polls were registered at Bardoli at 12,06,179 votes while the lowest were at 8,08,816 votes at Amreli.

(Posted on 17-05-2014)