Kolkata, May 17 UNI | 3 months ago

Trinamool Congress supremo and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee today said Sudip Bandopadhyay would be the party leader in the 16th Lok Sabha.

After a meeting of the parliamentary party at her residence here, Ms Banerjee said Kalyan Banerjee would be the party chief whip.

She informed that Ratna Dey Nag and Sugata Bose would be joint deputy leader of the party in the Lok Sabha.

Ms Banerjee said Mr Mukul Roy would be the parliamentary party leader adding he would be assisted by Subrata Bakshi.

Dedicating the victory of the party in the Lok Sabha elections to 'Maa-Mati-Manush,' she said celebrations in this respect would he held on July 21.

Reacting to the results of the elections, Ms Banerjee said last night 'It is the people of the country who are Man of the Match in the Lok Sabha polls. They replied to slander.'

"We will do whatever will be good for the people and the country," she has observed.

"People have voted for us in the Lok Sabha elections," she maintained.

The All India Trinamool Congress (AITC), led by Ms Banerjee, won 34 out of the 42 seats in the Lok Sabha elections.

While the Congress got four seats, the BJP and the Left Front bagged two seats each.

The Trinamool Congress had got 19 seats, as against nine of her arch rival CPI(M) in the 2009 elections.

(Posted on 17-05-2014)