Ahmedabad, May 17 UNI | 2 months ago

Even as the Modi wave swept Gujarat with the BJP winning all the 26 Lok Sabha seats in the state, more than 4.5 lakh voters of the state opted for NOTA (none of the above).

A total of 4,54,880 NOTA votes -- i.e. 1.76 per cent of total 2,58,24,003 valid votes polled -- were recorded in the state on April 30.

The tribal belt of Dahod (ST) and other two reserved seats of Chhota Udaipur and Valsad, witnessed maximum NOTA votes.

Lok Sabha result in the state yesterday saw Dahod registering 32,305 NOTA votes, followed by Chhota Udaipur (ST) 28,815 and Valsad (ST) 26,606 with the voters rejecting all the candidates in fray.

Dahod had 10 candidates contesting, while Chhota Udaipur had four and Valsad had 10.

BJP's Jaswantsinh Bhabor won from Dahod, Ramsinh Rathwa from Chhota Udaipur and KC Patel from Valsad.

A total of 18,053 voters opted for NOTA in Vadodara, from where BJP's Prime Ministerial candidate, Narendra Modi won with a record margin of 5,70,128 votes.

He polled 8,45,464 votes while his nearest rival Congress leader, Madhusudan Mistry got 2,75,336 votes.

There were finally, a total of eight candidates in fray from the seat.

Several NGOs in Vadodara had launched a campaign, appealing to the voters to vote for NOTA, alleging that no political party was concerned with the people's problems.

At Gandhinagar seat, where BJP veteran leader, LK Advani won, 12,777 voters opted for NOTA. The seat had 18 candidates in fray, where Advani polled 7,73,539 votes.

Jamnagar, which had 25 candidates in the fray, witnessed the minimum number of 6,588 of NOTA votes. BJP's Poonam Madam won from the seat.

A total of 22,334 voters, voted for NOTA at Sabarkantha, where there were 10 candidates in fray, including Congress veteran leader Shankersinh Vaghela. BJP's Dipsinh Rathod won from the seat.

This was the first time that NOTA was introduced in the Lok Sabha polls.

(Posted on 17-05-2014)