Hyderabad/Bhubaneshwar/Itanagar/Gangtok, May 16 UNI | 2 months ago

Telangana Rashtra Samithi(TRS) swept Telangana and the Telegu Desam Party Seemandhra as the Biju Janata Dal of Naveen Pattnaik stormed to power in Odisha for the fourth time in a row.

The Congress, decimated in Seemandhra, took solace from the return in office of Nabam Tuki in Arunachal Pradesh and Pawan Kumar Chamling headed for a fifth consecutive term as Sikkim Chief Minister.

The K Chandrashekhara Rao-led TRS, formed for the cause of statehood, had bagged eight and was leading in 57 out of 119 Assembly seats in Telangana region.

TRS opened its account from Bhongir Assembly Constituency, while Medak, Warangal, Husnabad, Siricilla, Nizamabad (Rural), Jangaon and Aluru also went into its kitty. Leading actress Vijaya Shanti of the Congress, who quit the TRS before the elections, licked dust from Medak by her TRS rival Padma Devendra Reddy.

K T Rama Rao (sitting), son of K Chandrashekara Rao, was elected from Siricilla Assembly Constituency and B Govardhan Reddy, also of the TRS, defeated his nearest rival and former APCC President D Srinivas from Nizamabad Constituency.

Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee president Ponnala Laxmaiah lost to TRS candidate M Yadagiri Reddy from Jangoan Assembly Constituency.

TRS was ahead in 57 Assembly Constituencies and the Congress and the TDP in 24 each.

K Chandrashekar Rao was leading from Medak Lok Sabha and also from Gajwal Assembly Constituency while his daughter Kavitha also was ahead from Nizamabad Lok Sabha Constituency.

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the main contender to form the government in Seemandhra, was continuing its imperious march to the saddle establishing an unassailable lead in 90 Assembly constituencies against its nearest rival YSRCP. Congress was heading for a whitewash.

As per the latest counting trend, the TDP was leading in 90 seats followed by the YSR Congress Party in 57 out of the total of 175. The Congress failed to open its account in Seemandhra.

Mr Naidu, TDP chief, was leading in Kuppam Assembly constituency in Chittoor district from where he was seeking fifth term.

The TDP and the YSRCP were, however, locked in neck and neck fight in Lok Sabha as both of them were tied at 11, while the TDP ally BJP was leading in two out of 25.

TDP ally, BJP national president Rajnath Singh congratulated Mr Naidu over phone on the victory of the TDP.

Jana Sena Party (JSP) founder and actor Pawan Kalyan, brother of Union Minister K Chiranjeevi, who supported the BJP and TDP, also congratulated Mr Naidu over phone.

A UNI report from Bhubaneswar said ruling Biju Janata Dal in Odisha, led by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, is all set to retain power for the fourth time in a row as the party is heading for an absolute majority in the 147-member Assembly by leading in 97 seats.

Notwithstanding the Modi wave across the country,the BJD also swept the Lok Sabha polls in the state by leading in as many as 16 of the 21 seats while the BJP and the Congress are leading in three and two seats respectively. Both the Congress and the BJP had suffered a major setback in the Assembly elections as the two opposition parties despite a much hyped campaign by their star campaigners Rahul Gandhi and Narendra Modi did not match with Naveen Patnaik, the sole campaigner of the BJD.

As per the trend available, the BJD was leading in as many 97 Assembly seats while the Congress in only 18 and the BJP in fifteen.

Out of 21 Lok Sabha seats,the BJD is leading in 16, the Congress in two and the BJP in three.

In the 2009 Assembly elections, the BJD won 103 seats and the Congress 27 while the BJP six.

As per the trends available, state BJP president K V Singdeo is leading in Patnagarh Assembly seat while Odisha Congress chief Jayadeb Jena is trailing in Anandpur(SC) Assembly seat and Ama Odisha Party(AOP) president S R Pattnaik is ahead in Khandpada assembly seat.

Mr Patnaik, a former Congress MP, had floated the AOP after he was expelled from the Congress for anti party activities. Among the 17 members of the council of ministers of Naveen Patnaik government, two ministers- School and Mass education Minister Rabi Narayan Nanda and Science and Technology Minister Ramesh Chandra Majhi are trailing in Jeypore and Jharigram assembly seat respectively.

Assembly Speaker Pradeep Kumar Amat, Deputy Speaker Sananda Marandi, BJD Chief Whip Pravat Tripathy and Deputy Chief whip Sanja Das Burna are all leading in their respective assembly seats.

A beleaguered Congress found solace in the easternmost state of Arunachal Pradesh with the party set to retain power in the 60-member assembly.

The party is heading towards an absolute majority having already bagged eleven seats uncontested and leading in 23 of the 28 seats, trends for which are available. The main opposition BJP was leading only in 4 seats, while the regional Peoples' Party of Arunachal(PPA) has already bagged one seat. The uncontested winners included Chief Minister Nabam Tuki and two of his cabinet colleagues. Among today's winners are Congress's former CM Jarbom Gamlin, Food and Civil Supplies Minister Kamlung Mossang and their party colleague Ms Gum-Tayeng. The Congress was leading in 41-Anini (ST), 8-Bameng (ST), 46-Chowkham (ST), 42-Dambuk (ST), 26-Daporijo(ST), 45-Hayuliang (ST), 27-Liromoba (ST), 1-Lumla (ST), 54-Namsang (ST), 35-Panggin (ST), 16-Yachuli (ST) Assembly seats. Peoples' Party of Arunachal (PPA) nominee Nikh Kamin defeated Congress's C C Singpho in Bordums-Diyum. Singpho has been represeting the seat since 1990 and was Deputy Speaker in the Assembly.

The main opposition BJP was marching ahead in 44-Tezu, 34-Tuting-Yingkiong, 55-Khonsa (EAST) and prestigious 13-Itanagar Assembly Constituencies. A UNI report from Gangtok said Sikkim Chief Minister Pawan Chamling is heading towards a record fifth term in office as his Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) won 11 out of 14 assembly seats, results of which were declared so far for the 32-member House

However, for the first time in five years the assembly will see the presence of opposition members as the newly-formed Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) headed by P S Goley wrested three seats from the ruling party. The SDF had won all 32 seats in 2009 election.

In results out so far the SDF candidates retained Yangthang, Poklok Kamrang, Dzongu, Rabong-Barfung, Yuksom Tashiding, Singtam-Khamdong, Melli-Tulsi, Chujachen-Bikram, Namchi-Singithang, Lachen-Mangan and Maneybong-Dentam seats.

SKM wrested the Rhenock, West Pendam, and Kabi-Lungchok seats.

Mr Chamling retained his home seat of Namchi-Singithang in South Sikkim.

(Posted on 16-05-2014)