Chandigarh, May 16 UNI | 2 months ago

The ruling Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance improved its performance and won six seats while AAP captured four Lok Sabha seats in Punjab today.

The SAD won the Bathinda, Ferozepur, Anandpur Sahib, Khadoor Sahib seats while its partner BJP grabbed the Gurdaspur and Hoshiarpur (SC) Lok Sabha seats in the state.

In a major setback to the saffron party, its senior leader Arun Jaitley was defeated by his nearest Congress rival Captain Amarinder Singh by over 1.05 lakh votes from Amritsar Lok Sabha seat. However, SAD candidate Harsimrat Kaur Badal, wife of Punjab Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal, retained her Bathinda seat by defeating her brother-in-law and Congress candidate Manpreet Singh Badal by over 19,000 votes.

AAP, which emerges as third force in the state, won from Sangrur, Faridkot, Fatehgarh Sahib (SC) and Patiala seats. Its candidates Bhagwant Mann, Prof Sadhu Singh, Harinder Singh Khalsa and Dr Dharam Vira Gandhi defeated their nearest rivals veteran leader Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa, Bibi Paramjit Kaur Gulshan (both SAD) and Sadhu Singh Dharamsot and Preneet Kaur (both Congress) from Sangrur, Faridkot (SC), Fatehgarh Sahib (SC) and Patiala Lok Sabha seats respectively. Mann won the seat with a huge margin of over two lakh votes. Congress candidates retained the Ludhiana and Jalandhar (SC) seats from where party candidates Ravneet Singh Bittu and Santokh Singh Choudhary defeated their rivals lawyer H S Phoolka (AAP) and Pawan Kumar Teenu (SAD) respectively. Other Congress heavyweights Ambika Soni, Partap Singh Bajwa and CLP leader Sunil Jakhar were defeated by Prof Prem Singh Chandumajra (SAD), actor-turned-politician Vinod Khanna (BJP) and Sher Singh Gubaya (SAD) from Anandpur Sahib, Gurdaspur and Ferozepur seats respectively.

Veteran SAD leader Ranjit Singh Brahmpura defeated his Congress rival Harminder Singh Gill and BJP candidate Vijay Sampla trounced senior Congress leader Mohinder Singh Kaypee from Khadoor Sahib and Hoshiarpur (SC) Lok Sabha seats respectively.

In 2009 Lok Sabha polls, Congress grabbed eight seats, SAD four and its partner BJP one seat.

(Posted on 16-05-2014)