Kolkata, May 16 IANS | 5 months ago

Seasoned politicos had frowned upon their greenhorn counterparts, but a number of celebrity candidates contesting from West Bengal, rode on star power to their way to parliament. However, a few had to embrace disappointment.

The Trinamool Congress' strategy to put up a host of stars from various fields paid rich dividend allowing it to register a thumping victory in 34 seats to nearly double its 2009 tally of 19.

Among its victorious star candidates, glamour-queen Moon Moon Sen turned out to be a giant killer defeating nine-time MP Basudeb Acharia of the Communist Party of India-Marxist in Bankura by 97,511 votes.

Reigning Bengal matinee idol Dev emerged victorious from Ghatal with a massive mandate.

The other victorious Trinamool stars are actors Sandhya Roy (Midnapore), Tapas Pal (Krishnanagar) and Satabdi Roy (Birbhum).

However, three of its celebrity candidates - football icon Bhaichung Bhutia and singers Soumitra Roy and Indranil Sen - had to eat the humble pie.

Contesting from Darjeeling, Bhutia was humbled by BJP veteran S.S. Ahluwalia, by 196,795 votes.

Fielded in the Congress bastion of Malda South and Bahrampur, Trinamool crooners Roy and Sen were defeated by sitting MPs Mausam Noor and Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury respectively.

While most of its star nominees including famed music composer Bappi Lahiri and renowned magician P.C. Sorcar were no match for their seasoned political rivals. Famed crooner Babul Supriyo pulled off a stunning victory in Asansol defeating Trinamool's Dola Sen by over 70,000 votes.

Contesting from Sreerampore, Lahiri polled over 2.8 lakh votes but ended up third as Trinamool's Kalyan Banerjee romped in to his second term.

Sorcar failed to cast his spell on Barasat voters which elected Trinamool's Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar for a second time.

Former India football captain and Trinamool's Howrah nominee Prasun Banerjee retained the seat spoiling BJP's actor candidate George Baker's political foray.

(Posted on 16-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |