Saturday, February 06 2016

Home > News > West Bengal News

All four AAP candidates lose security deposits in Bengal

Posted on May 16 2014 | IANS

Kolkata, May 16 : All the four Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidates contesting the Lok Sabha polls from West Bengal lost their security deposits Friday.

If a candidate has polled one-sixth or less of the total votes polled in the constituency, the security deposit is forfeited.

AAP's Pasharul Alam managed a little over 3,600 votes in Raiganj which was won by Communist Party of India-Marxist nominee Mohammad Salim who defeated his nearest rival Deepa Dasmunsi of Congress.

Mihir Biswas, in the fray from Barrackpore, could poll only around 1,700 votes. Trinamool Congress veteran and former union railway minister Dinesh Trivedi retained the seat defeating CPI-M's Subhasini Ali by over two lakh votes.

In Kolkata North, Alok Chaturvedi got about 4,000 votes. Trinamool's Sudip Bandyopadhay retained the seat defeating nearest rival BJP's Rahul Sinha.

Suraj Narayan Singh from Howrah got less than 2,000 votes. Former Indian soccer captain Prasun Banerjee of the Trinamool was re-elected from the constituency.

According to Election Commission guidelines, a general candidate has to pay a security deposit of Rs.10,000, while candidates belonging to the Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe categories have to deposit Rs.5,000.

However, if a candidate is elected, the deposit is refunded.

Latest News: