Bhubaneswar, May 16 IANS | 1 year ago

The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) was ahead in 18 of 21 Lok Sabha constituencies and 79 of 147 assembly seats in Odisha Friday, officials said.

Among prominent BJD candidates for the Lok Sabha who are leading include members of the outgoing parliament Sidhant Mohapatra, Prasanna Kumar Patsani, Bhartruhari Mahatab, Baijayant Panda and Pinaki Mishra.

Congress candidate and former chief minister Giridhar Gomang was trailing in Koraput Lok Sabha constituency while Congress candidate Srikanta Jena was lagging behind in Balasore Lok Sabha seat.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik took lead in the Hinjili assembly constituency in Ganjam district over Congress' Sibaram Patra, the officials said.

State Congress president Jayadev Jena and BJP president K.V.Singh Deo were trailing in Anandpur and Patnagarh assembly seats respectively.

Simultaneous elections took place for 21 Lok Sabha and 147 assembly seats in the state.

(Posted on 16-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Free Yearly Horoscope: Select your zodiac sign

Pisces | Aquarius | Capricorn | Sagittarius | Scorpio | Libra | Virgo | Leo | Cancer | Gemini | Taurus | Aries