Wednesday, February 10 2016

Home > News > India Election Results

BJD leads in Odisha assembly, LS seats

Posted on May 16 2014 | IANS

Bhubaneswar, May 16 : The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) was ahead in nine of 21 Lok Sabha constituencies and 17 assembly seats in Odisha Friday, officials said.

Among prominent BJD candidates for the Lok Sabha who are leading were members of the outgoing parliament Tathagata Satapathy, Bhartruhari Mahatab and Prasanna Kumar Patsani.

Congress candidate and former chief minister Giridhar Gomang was leading in Koraput Lok Sabha constituency.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik took lead in the Hinjili assembly constituency in Ganjam district over Congress's Sibaram Patra by a margin of 1,942 votes, the officials said.

State Congress president Jayadev Jena was trailing in Anandpur assembly seat.

Simultaneous elections took place for 21 Lok Sabha and 147 assembly seats in the state.

Latest News: