Ahmedabad, May 15 UNI | 2 months ago

The fate of 334 candidates for the 26 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat will be declared tomorrow.

All preparations for smooth counting at the district headquarters have been completed as the counting starts at 0800 hrs tomorrow.

Gujarat Chief Minister and BJP's Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is all set to win from Vadodara seat, even as the people are waiting to know about the margin of his victory over Congress' candidate Madhusudan Mistry.

Riding on a "Modi wave", the BJP was hoping to win more than 22 seats out of the total 26 seats.

In 2009 Lok Sabha polls, the BJP had won 15 seats and later it won two seats in by-elections.

Whereas the Congress hopes to retain its tally of nine seats.

In Ahmedabad, the counting will be held at Gujarat College and L D Engineering College.

The state control room has been set up at Circuit House Annexe in Shahibaug area of the city. All the preparations have been done in Vadodara also.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made for tomorrow's counting process.

Besides Mr Modi, other high-profile candidates in the fray include BJP veteran L K Advani and Congress leader and Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Shankarsinh Vaghela.

A total of 20 sitting MPs and 13 sitting MLAs of both the BJP and the Congress were in the fray from the state.

While Mr Advani has been contesting from state capital Gandhinagar, Mr Vaghela is trying his fate from Sabarkantha.

Mr Modi's home state had recorded 63.31 per cent voting in the single-phase polling on April 30.

The voting percentage was about 15 per cent more than in comparision to the last general elections in 2009.

While 2009 Lok Sabha polls had witnessed 47.89 per cent voting,it was 51.41 per cent in the 2004 polls.

The highest voting of 74.59 per cent was recorded at Bardoli in 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

Father of the Nation Mahatama Gandhi's birthplace Porbandar recorded the lowest 52.31 per cent voting.

Mr Modi's constituency Vadodara witnessed a bumper 70.75 per cent polling.

Out of a total of 4.06 crore voters of Gujarat, 2,56,89,887 (male 1,41,83,430, female 1,15,06,457) had cast their votes.

Results for the by-elections to seven Assembly seats will also be announced tomorrow.

A total of 78 candidates were in the fray for by-elections to the seven Assembly seats.

(Posted on 16-05-2014)