Mumbai, May 15 IANS | 5 months ago

The stage is set for Friday's counting of the millions of votes cast in 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra, including six in the country's commercial capital Mumbai, officials said here Thursday.

Counting will be held at 41 centres across the state, including four in Mumbai from 8 a.m. onwards.

"We are absolutely ready and prepared for the counting process. We hope everything will go smoothly," a top Election Commission official told IANS.

The votes cast in as many as 90,404 electronic voting machines (EVMs) shall be counted by around 25,000 officials across the state.

The officials indicated that major trends shall be visible by noon, but were not sure when the final results could be announced.

A total of 897 candidates contested the Lok Sabha election held in three phases in the state - April 10, April 17 and April 24.

Of the total electorate of 8.06 crore, 60.42 percent exercised their franchise.

Some of the prominent candidates whose fate would be known Friday include union ministers Sushilkumar Shinde, Milind Deora, Praful Patel, former chief minister Ashok Chavan, Congress general secretary Gurudas Kamat, state ministers Sunil Tatkare and Chhagan Bhujbal, senior Bharatiya Janata Party leaders like Nitin Gadkari, Gopinath Munde, Aam Aadmi Party's Mayank Gandhi and Anjali Damania.

Police are maintaining tight security at all the counting stations since the past few weeks after polling was completed.

Mumbai Police Commissioner Rakesh Maria has banned any type of celebrations or victory rallies in and around the vicinity of the counting centres as a precautionary measure.

(Posted on 15-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |