Kolkata, May 14 IANS | 5 months ago

Three-tier security arrangements, including personnel from both central and state forces, will be made at each of the 48 premises in West Bengal when the votes cast in the Lok Sabha polls will be counted on Friday, an Election Commission official said Wednesday.

Assistant Chief Electoral Officer Amitjyoti Bhattacharya said the counting process will be spread over 69 centres in the 48 premises.

As many as 55 additional observers will be deployed, in addition to the 43 who did duty during the polls.

"Three-tier cordoning system will be set up in all counting premises to prevent the entry of unauthorised people inside the counting premises as per the commission's standing instructions.

"In addition, a 100-metre periphery around a counting premise will be demarcated as pedestrian zone. No vehicles shall be allowed within this perimeter. This is first cordon of the security ring," Bhattacharya told reporters here.

Adequate local police force will be posted at this juncture, he added.

The second tier and the middle cordon, at the gate of the counting premise, will be manned by the state armed police, he said.

Central paramilitary personnel will guard the third security layer at the door of the counting hall.

The assistant CEO said each counting table will be monitored by one micro-observer and assistant returning officers will man the counting halls.

The entire exercise will be videographed, he added.

(Posted on 14-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |