By Aparajita Gupta, New Delhi, May 14 IANS | 5 months ago

The country's largest telecom service provider Bharti Airtel has got the initial go-ahead from the Department of Telecom (DoT) for its Unified Licence (UL) in Delhi and Kolkata service areas using any technology.

According to a copy of the Letter of Intent (LoI) available with IANS, Bharti Airtel requested the DoT to grant UL in the two circles March 13, 2014. The DoT has issued the letter to the service provider May 9, 2014, specifying that UL agreement will be signed after various compliances "within twentyone working days on receipt of this LoI."

Bharti Airtel needs to pay Rs.2.3 crore as non-refundable entry fee for UL for the two service areas.

According to sources, the company is expected to get the UL by the end of this month. But the company declined to comment when formally contacted by IANS.

The new UL guidelines came in place August 2013 replacing the existing United Access Service Licence (UASL) regime. All the mobile phone firms will have to mandatorily move to the new regime.

The migration to UL allows telecom companies to provide all services under one permit using any technology, as against the existing regime which places various restrictions.

Besides, it also allows operators to share active infrastructure like spectrum, take part in mergers and acquisition activity that were not part of earlier UASL.

Bharti Airtel bought fresh spectrum in Delhi and Kolkata circles in the second generation (2G) spectrum auction that took place in February 2014 as its 20-year licence period in both the circles was expiring November 2014.

Bharti Airtel provides mobile services in all the 22-telecom circles of India and it has over 200 million mobile subscriber base in the country.

The other three companies which have already bagged UL are Reliance Jio Infocomm Limited, Sistema Shyam TeleServices Limited and Videocon Mobiles.

Vodafone is also said to have applied for UL in Delhi, Mumbai and Kolkata circles February 19, 2014.

(Aparajita Gupta can be contacted at

(Posted on 14-05-2014)

Share This Page:

Post your comments

Information on States of India:

Andaman Nicobar | Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chandigarh | Chhattisgarh | Dadar Nagar Haveli | Daman Diu | Delhi | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu Kashmir | Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Lakshadweep | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Orissa | Pondicherry | Punjab | Rajasthan | Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttar Pradesh | Uttaranchal | West Bengal


Andhra Pradesh Travel Map | Bihar Travel Map | Goa Travel Map | Gujarat Travel Map | Haryana Travel Map | Himachal Pradesh Map | Karnataka Travel Map | Kerala Travel Map | Maharashtra Travel Map | Punjab Travel Map | Rajasthan Travel Map | Sikkim Travel Map | Tamil Nadu Travel Map | Uttar Pradesh Travel Map | West Bengal Travel Map |


Alappuzha | Ernakulam | Idukki | Kannur | Kasaragod | Kollam | Kottayam | Kozhikode | Malappuram | Palakkad | Pathanamthitta | Thiruvananthapuram | Thrissur | Wayanad |


Airports of India | Districts of India | India Pilgrim Centers | Tourism Map of India | National Highways in India | India Railway Routes |


Ahmadabad | Bangalore | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi | Hyderabad/Secunderabad | Kochi | Kolkata | Mumbai | Pondicherry | Pune | Surat |