Sunday, February 07 2016

Home > News > Sports India News

Close to 100 entries for MRF Supercross

Posted on May 14 2014 | IANS

Chennai, May 14 : The 10th edition of the MRF MoGrip-FMSCI National Supercross championship has attracted almost 100 entries for each of the six rounds to be staged across the country.

The first round of the championship will be held in Nashik May 18 and the second in Pune May 25. The other rounds are tentatively scheduled to be held in Coimbatore, Chennai, Ahmedabad and Mumbai, according to a Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India press release here Wednesday.

Supercross is a motorcycling sport that involves off-road motorcycles on an artificially-created dirt track consisting of steep jumps and obstacles, and is usually conducted in stadiums.

MRF Limited is the title sponsor. TVS Motor Company, Hero Moto Corp, Sidvin Core-Tech, and IOC Servo are associate sponsors while Godspeed (Pune) is organising the championship.

K.P. Aravind (Team TVS, Bangalore), C.S. Santosh (Bangalore), Kerala's Harith Noah (Team TVS) and Veer Patel (Baroda) are some of the Indian riders who have participated in recent Asian Supercross events in Sri Lanka and the UAE, and along with privateers Snehal Chavan (Team 9T9 Racing, Pune) and Gaurav Khatri (New Delhi), will be wowing the spectators with their daredevil style.

Factory-backed Team TVS and Pune's 9T9 Racing are among the top teams in the fray.

Close to 40 thoroughbred motocross motorcycles will be seen in action in the re-christened SX 1 and SX 2 categories, while the newly-introduced Junior SX category is exclusively for riders below 15 years of age.

Latest News: