Tuesday, February 09 2016

Home > News > World News

Van der Wiel omitted from Dutch World Cup squad

Posted on May 14 2014 | IANS

The Hague, May 14 : Netherlands coach Louis van Gaal excluded some big names in the provisional squad of 30 players for the FIFA World Cup, with the omission of Paris Saint-Germain right-back Gregory van der Wiel as the biggest surprise.

Van der Wiel missed the final part of the French season due to a knee injury, but was expected to be part of the World Cup squad, reports Xinhua.

Van Gaal Tuesday also left out experienced players like Maarten Stekelenburg, John Heitinga and Joris Mathijsen.

Uncapped Terence Kongolo was the most surprising inclusion. The 20-year-old defender only became a regular starter at Feyenoord in the second half of the 2013/2014 season.

Robin van Persie, Arjen Robben, Wesley Sneijder and Rafael van der Vaart have all been included in the initial squad, with Nigel de Jong and Dirk Kuyt also joining the group.

"It is always difficult to make choices," Van Gaal explained. "Moreover, because all players have worked so hard. It is now up to the preliminary selection to convince me that they belong to the last 23."

The final World Cup squad must be handed in to the FIFA June 2, consisting of 23 players.

Provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Michel Vorm (Swansea City) , Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Jeroen Zoet (PSV).

Defenders: Patrick van Aanholt (Vitesse), Daley Blind (Ajax), Daryl Janmaat (Feyenoord), Joel Veltman (Ajax), Stefan de Vrij ( Feyenoord), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa), Bruno Martins Indi (Feyenoord) , Karim Rekik (PSV), Terence Kongolo (Feyenoord), Paul Verhaegh ( Augsburg).

Midfielders: Leroy Fer (Norwich City), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea City), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Rafael van der Vaart (Hamburg), Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord).

Forwards: Quincy Promes (Twente), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Jean-Paul Boetius (Feyenoord), Robin van Persie (Manchester United), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce), Jeremain Lens (Dynamo Kiev), Memphis Depay (PSV).

Latest News: